top of page

RECENT POSTS

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

DANA MASHALAHPOOR | COFFEE CUP SERIES

"THE CITY OF YAZD" | STILA PHOTOGRAPHY STUDIO

We were supposed to meet for an interview at the historic Iranian "TIME MUSEUM". I got there early. There was a very cute coffee shop inside of the museum's garden. So I decided to walk around and renew my childhood memories. Acting curious while walking around this huge garden, I watched this gentleman approaching me. He was different. His style was different, specifically to the Iranian community. He was wearing a navy blue Polo shirt with unique old Iranian floral patterns, a pair of reverse pleated pants of the 60's, and a pair of classic chocolate brown leather shoes from DORSA Leather. We finally met, and we both agreed. He is an icon. A representation of Iranian men "before the revolution."



Let me introduce you to Dana Mashalahpoor. A man with an old soul and ambition.


To him, It was decided. Seven years ago, he started his career as a model in Tehran. He was wanted by many photographers. That's how everything started. He has unique features despite of his Persian (Iranian) genes!


The Islamic country, Iran, holds the title of having the world's oldest culture, and is also known for its tremendous population. And, let us not forget, only a few will survive within its fashion industry. Specifically models. A modelling agency has never been built in Iran. It has always been difficult for models to receive proper education regarding their career.


Even though, despite all the difficulties and limitations, one person hasn't gave up yet. This "one person" 's dedication has been guiding him to stand tall, and move forward for seven long years. And now, he is the brand ambassador of major luxury Iranian companies. To name a few, he has been working for LRC Group, Dorsa ( designer leather accessories, home and furniture, and Cafe ); and Masihzad, a designer luxury, and high quality suiting brand for men.



Over some coffee and desserts, Dana and I decided to sit down together, to discuss, and to introduce you to the man who is taking the lead in the Iranian modelling industry, and to explain the difference in between the Iranian modelling industry and the international modelling and talent agencies worldwide.


1. WHO IS DANA MASHALAHPOOR? HOW DO YOU DESCRIBE YOURSELF?

I have 29 years of age. I have studied mechanical engineering, Also, I own a masters degree in Business and Marketing. I have received various certificates within this field. Furthermore, I am pursuing my career in luxury branding, and modelling.

2. WHY DID YOU DECIDE PURSUE MODELLING?

I have always been pursued by many figures of the industry since I was little. I was always a fond of various designer brands, colours and patterns, and the design of each garment itself. I was also following up with various fashion magazines, where the world's fashion industry is heading to, and also, following up with famous models's careers and their lifestyles. So I asked myself, "do I have the qualifications to start a career within this industry?"


3. WHEN WAS YOUR FIRST GIG? AND WHO DID YOU WORK WITH?

There are no modelling agencies established in Iran, so most models start their career by collaborating with different photographers. I received my first gig in 2009 as I modelled for an Iranian lady-photographer whom she had just started her career in photography aswell.

4. HOW LONG HAS IT BEEN SINCE YOU HAVE BEEN PURSUING THIS CAREER?

It's been seven years already! Hope for more upcoming successful years!

5. YOUR WORK STARTED TO BOOM AFTER YOU PARTNERED UP WITH TWO BIG IRANIAN LUXURY BRANDS, MASIHZAD, AND DORSA. TELL US ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCES.

Masihzad and I met in 2012. Masihzad is Bijan Pakzad's protege. He established his brand in United States of America in 2002. He then moved back to Iran and introduced the Donegal style to the Iranian culture, and he was very successful doing it.


It was decided. In our first collaboration together, I modelled in four different costume made tuxedos of his, which in a short time, this campain became very popular around Iran. This shoot was all over Iran. Not only this shoot was trending around social media, it got published in various magazines and newspapers. Some newspapers decided to not to publish the photos because the shots were high fashion editorial shots, and these publications were not drifting towards this lifestyle. Wearing this collection made me feel as I was the real James Bond for a second!!


It was 2013 when I had the pleasure to work with DORSA Leathers. At that year, Iranians were still not used to my figure and the way I looked, but DORSA put his trust in me. My first campaign happened to happen for Dorsa's Fall/Winter 2013 collection as I modelled their leather goods.


I can't stress enough of how big of a campaign this was in Iran!!! It was as big as Dolce & Gabbana, but happening in Iran! I remember them carrying their accessories in 2 big industrial vans to different locations we had to shoot at! I had never gotten to shoot infront of 30 people all at once, specifically as all these individuals were the top Iranian celebrities whom all were involved in this big project.


6. HOW DO YOU DESCRIBE YOUR STYLE?

I am a representation of Iranian men of 60's and 70's. Their character and their field they were working was represented by what these men were wearing. Compared to this era, now, Men's fashion is hardly changing in Iran. They don't have a clue of what they are wearing.



You are seeing me in a classic Polo shirt today, but, I always finish off my outfit with a blazer. Or I will wear a full suit, in various styles, depending on the location. It has always been important to me to wear full suiting to each location I will be going to, as this outfit is not only classic, but is a definition of "respect", "elegance", and "significance".


7. HOW IS A TYPICAL DAY FOR YOU AT WORK, AND ON SET?

COFFEE comes first !! Right after I get up! There are times on set that not only I have to model, but I also style the outfit myself. I also have to do a bit of homework before each shoot. I have to be well prepared for my shoot, so I will make sure that I know every detail about concept of the shoot.


When I feel nervous, I practice my poses in front of a mirror. I am aware of my weaknesses, so I try to overcome them if I know there is a certain posture that I might find it difficult to do.


I show up at the location in a comfortable outfit so that I can change into the desired garments fast, and easily.


When makeup is done, I always ask the shoot's photographer to assist me to warm up before we start our work together. Specifically, this matter relates to photographers who haven't worked with me before, and are not familiar with my style. I am very picky with how I represent a product. I take my time with each pose and go over the shots taken from the same pose, making sure to fix any little mistakes. I don't feel like I am really done with taking the right shots if I don't get involved in seeing my shots and pour my ideas to the photographer after each pose. I am picky because the client has entrusted his business to me. I have to make sure that I am doing everything right!


"DORSA LEATHER'S 2016 CAMPAING."


I'm usually on set from 6 to 14 hours. There have been times that I had to shoot from the evening until the morning after.

8. IRAN IS AN ISLAMIC, AND A VERY STRICT COUNTRY. TELL US ABOUT THE FREEDOM OF WORK ( MODELING INDUSTRY ) IN IRAN.

This job (modelling) is not a very acceptable career in our culture. If some Iranians do agree with this type of career, they will only look at it as if modelling is for entertainment purposes only! Advertising a business does cost money, and some Iranian businesses think of this career as if models will lead their business to bankruptcy, or if models want to take away all their wealth to themselves! As per usual, all businesses try to get themselves involved in the project that has been entrusted to to an advertisement company, but little do they know, when they hire an advertisement company to do "the job" for them, most decisions are made by the agency and not the clients, as they agents are aware of the islamic rules and regulations of the industry!


It certainly is important for the clients to get involved in the projects, but sometimes they have to let loose and entrust the business to us!


"DORSA LEATHER'S 2016 CAMPAING."

It is also important to pay attention to your posture while advertising a product. Your work is going to get published if you have followed the rules and regulations of the government. Your shots should not be seen too attractive or flashy. This causes an inconnvenience to the Iranian community and culture. For example, you can never "lean back" on your seat as many models do so, worldwide. You have to sit up straight!!!


"DORSA LEATHER'S 2016 CAMPAING."


I am happy to see that our community is growing within this field (fashion and modelling) as people are following up with our work through social media, and press. I am also blessed to be known by my community, not only as a model, but also as a charismatic figure who can changes one's perspective of living. As there is no modeling agency established in Iran, I am very thankful for the opportunities that have come along my way, and for me to be able to sign valid agreements with major Iranian companies, as a lot of models do not get the attention and care that they need to be given to. In order for you to be successful in this industry, you have to be wise and know how to network and whom you should work with.



9. WHAT IS YOUR MAIN PURPOSE OF DOING MODELLING?

To be a representation of an iconic Iranian man. There have been many articles written about Iranian women ("women of Iran"), and nothing about Iranian men. I will not look the same as I grow older. It is a blessing to be able to grow old, but I would love to grow a business of my own while growing up.


"DISTINCTION BETWEEN TWO GENERATIONS." | STILA PHOTOGRAPHY STUDIO


I want to be remembered as someone who has made "a change." I don't want to be remembered only for my looks! Your beauty and figure will vanish by time, but your vision will lead you to your success.


"CURIOSITY OF A CHILD." | STILA PHOTOGRAPHY STUDIO


I wish for men and women to have their mind set on their goals, and never stop dreaming. I wish to be the change they need to see, and get inspired by!


"BUSINESS MEETINGS & PUBLIC SHOWER." | STILA PHOTOGRAPHY STUDIO

My definition of an iconic Iranian man is of a man of today's generation. A man who follows the modern Iranian lifestyle, and who also follows the previous generation's foot steps, rules and regulations. A man who has not forgotten about "his past", and his ancestors. A man who has not forgotten about the future, and today's Iranian culture. He is charismatic, educated, an achiever, loves his family, and his attire is of his importance. It has always been important for the Iranian culture to look their best, while communication with one another.


10. WHO ARE YOUR FAVOURITE PHOTOGRAPHERS? WHAT DOES IT INSPIRE YOU THE MOST ABOUT THEIR WORK?

1) Arnaldo Anaya-Lucca

His collaboration with Ralph Lauren was the most inspiring to me.

2) Mariano Vivanco​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

High fashion! Love it!

3) Mario Testino

His work is very unique. You really can't expect anything from this man!

4) Arash Vakilzadeh (Iranian Photographer)

His work comes with a story of depth.

5) Saeed Jafari (Iranian Photographer)

His work is a combination of European and Iranian style being put together.

11. DO YOU HAVE ANY SPECIFIC DIET?

I am always careful with what I eat daily. I am very careful with my sugar intake. My meals are less salty, and also, less fat included. I also exercise three times per week. This gives me room to eat a bit more than usual.

12. AS AN EXPERIENCED MODEL, HOW WOULD YOU ADVICE THE INDIVIDUALS WHO'D WANT TO PURSUE A CAREER IN MODELLING?

"Google" and "Youtube" are the best sources of practicing at home. Do your research before starting your career in this field. Put the beauty of pictures and the photo models aside, and read about your favourite models and photographers's lifestyles. It is then that you will really know if "modelling" is for you!


Your bedroom's mirror can be your best friend. Practice your posture, and be confident infront of the camera.

"THE CITY OF YAZD" | STILA PHOTOGRAPHY STUDIO

13. ANYTHING YOU'D WANT TO ADD BEFORE WE FINISH UP?

I need my people to understand that working in this industry does not mean for me to show off my lifestyle for any unnecessary gains. I like for a revolution ( a big change ) to happen. One that could move many hearts. One that I could be a part of. Either as the lead of this change, or as a follower. I wish for humanity to be able to recognize their strengths and believe in themselves. I wish for them to recognize this divine power, and put it to work, in where their heart is, and what they are desiring the most. I hope we all come to a mutual understanding that can be beneficial for our beautiful country, Iran.

HIS FAVOURITES:

1. COLOR: ROYAL BLUE

2. WATCH / SHOES: BOTH

3. BOOK: NEGOTIATION RULES

4. TEA / COFFEE: TEA ( This comes with being an Iranian )

5. DESIGNERS: GEORGIO ARMANY, RALPH LAUREN, MAHTAB JAMALI (KATAYOON LONDON), MASIHZAD

6. MOVIE: GLORY ROAD

7. SHOPPING SPOT: DORSA


Also, I purchase my own textiles 95% of the time. I took them to a seamstress, and design my own wardrobe pieces, and have them ready to be worn. You can find good seamstresses at Zartosht area in Tehran.


8. SHOOTING LOCATION: IRAN

9. MUSIC & SINGERS: BEE GEES, PINK FLOYD

10. WRITER: UNSURE

NOTE: For any business inquiries, and getting in touch with Dana, click here.

  • b-facebook
  • Instagram Black Round
bottom of page