top of page

RECENT POSTS

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

COFFEE CUP | HAVENEY


kkkk

It was not long ago when Marie showcased her very first collection, Haveney, for Vancouverites at Vancouver Fashion Week. I was drawn to her very feminine and delicate creations. Therefore, I did not hesitate and reached out to her, only to find out more about the story that is hidden behind her brand.


Tell me a bit about yourself, and your background in fashion.


My name is Marie-Laetitia Rossazza, I have 21 years of age, and I come from Nice, France. Today, I live in Marseille, where I am working on my very-elegant women's collection, and label. I have majored in Fashion Design, and I successfully graduated in fashion designing last year. During these years of studying, I had the opportunity to be an intern-designer at Chacok Clothing, and to be working as a sales associate for different luxury brands. However, I completely devoted myself to my brand Haveney, from September 2014. My label is being developed in France. Every garment is handmade, and all my suppliers are local.


What made you decide to pursue a career in fashion, and to become a fashion designer?


I was fascinated by the world of fashion since childhood, especially since college days where I was already picturing dresses in my head, and was drawing them on papers. It was time for me to choose a major of studies after I had graduated from highschool. And I thought to myself "why not me? Why would I not be able to undertake studies in the field of fashion?" I was eager to develop and implement the ideas I had in mind.

After having my studies started, I realized that fashion designing was exactly what I wanted to do. Being a fashion designer is more than a job to me, it is my passion. I can develop myself and find my own style.


After graduation, I again asked myself "why not me? Why would I not be able to start my own clothing line?" And now, this is where I am at so far!


We understood that you were showcasing your first ever made collection at Vancouver Fashion Week NOT LONG AGO. What experiences did you gain from the show?


Overall, It was a great personal and professional experience. I met many people from the fashion industry. I also realized that my work was praised and loved by many.


This event also allowed me to be more visible and known. We had a very good media fallout! The runway photos appeared on Vogue UK and Glamour UK websites, and many articles were written about my collection by different worldwide blogs and websites.


What is the theme of your collection and how do you describe this collection? Why have you used colors of white, black, and red in your collection?


The main theme of my collection is minimalism, which it explains my choice of colours: black and white. Each outfit's cutting is elegant and feminine. The neckline and halter-neck cuttings were inspired by different geometric shapes, and the burgundy coloured details are here to remind us about each garment's feminine touch.

This collection is a synonymous of purity and sobriety. The reason is, I prefer to focus on cuts, details, and a woman's femininity rather than designing a dramatic look. We do not necessarily need rhinestones and sequins to look beautiful and get noticed!


Who are you making your garments for? Describe your customer’s taste!


Haveney is for all women who want to feel beautiful, who want to attract attention or would just want a dress that puts them in the crosshairs for their special event.


What is the range of sizes that your garments are available in?


My clothes are available from size 34 to size 40.


What do you think the current and future trends in fashion designing are?


There are trends inspired by the past (70's) that I like a lot, and there are the futuristic trends that I sometimes think lack femininity. It looks like that the fashion industry is trying to feminize men and masculinize women. That's why I am insisting on femininity in my collections. It’s important for me to enhance women.


Who are your fashion icons, and why?


I love the Lebanese fashion designer Elie Saab. He knows how to put women in the center of attention. He brings "pure elegance" to his work. The details of his creations are always present in each of his collections, and the cuttings are always at the forefront of the trend. I also like Karl Lagerfeld, including his work for Chanel. He is a knowledgable fashion icon and I agree with his vision of fashion and art.


Who is your main source of inspiration in fashion designing, and who do you owe your success to?


As I said, I get my inspiration from minimal art and design, however, I also get inspired by women around me. I always listen to their needs and think of a way to make them feel beautiful and eye-catching.

I think my success is due to my surroundings. My family, my friends, and my spouse. They have always supported me. It is thanks to them that I have believed in myself and have started this adventure.


Aside fashion designing, what are your hobbies?


I love traveling, discovering new cultures, and seeing new landscapes. I also often design winter clothing, and do knitting when I have some free time with me!


What do you hope to have achieved in the fashion industry in 10 years?


In 10 years, I hope to have my brand known globaly, and have my collections and garments sold in multi-brand showrooms, in France and abroad.

I also hope to have several franchised boutiques. Likewise, I am thinking of developing my own accessory and jewelry collection.


Any last words for the readers, and anyone who is interested to pursue a career in fashion designing?


My favorite saying has always been "If you want it, you got it." If you are passionate and motivated, you can reach the top. The fashion industry is certainly not the easiest environment to work at, but every person has always a chance to start their journey if they believe in their strength. I started from a scratch, I could neither sew, nor create a garment, but today, I have created my own brand. Anything is possible if you really want it and have faith in it.


Please visit www.havaney.fr for any inquiries, and individual purchases.


Pictures from: Haveney.fr / Vogue.uk


  • b-facebook
  • Instagram Black Round
bottom of page